All that’s bright and gone by Eliza Nellums review 4 stars

Description

Fans of Jodi Picoult and Fredrik Backman will fall for this tenderhearted debut mystery following a young girl on a quest to save her family.

I know my brother is dead. But sometimes Mama gets confused.

There’s plenty about the grownup world that six-year-old Aoife doesn’t understand. Like what happened to her big brother Theo and why her mama is in the hospital instead of home where she belongs. Uncle Donny says she just needs to be patient, but Aoife’s sure her mama won’t be able to come home until Aoife learns what really happened to her brother. The trouble is no one wants to talk about Theo because he was murdered. But by whom?

With her imaginary friend Teddy by her side and the detecting skills of her nosy next door neighbor, Aoife sets out to uncover the truth about her family. But as her search takes her from the banks of Theo’s secret hideout by the river to the rooftops overlooking Detroit, Aoife will learn that some secrets can’t stay hidden forever and sometimes the pain we bury is the biggest secret of them all.

Driven by Aoife’s childlike sincerity and colored by her vivid imagination, All That’s Bright and Goneilluminates the unshakeable bond between families–and the lengths we’ll go to bring our loved ones home. 

Liana 4 stars

This book is definitely something else and not what you expect but a great story nevertheless .

Told in a point of view of a 6 years old little girl, we discover a lot of things happening and how she sees everything around her. Living with mental health illness around her and trying to understand what’s happening is hard for an adult so imagine being a kid with big dreams and an imagination that knows no limits.

It might break your heart at times, there are some questions that we get the answers but also there are others that are left opened up for the reader to review them and that in my opinion is a great story overall and the author has done a great job of it.

Create your website with WordPress.com
Get started
%d bloggers like this: